What is so significant about this beer is that it is as good as it is without having been brewed with a single gluten-polluted grain. Rather than using grains such as barley, wheat and rye, which tend to make the best beers but conversely are full of gluten, which is poison to sufferers of Celiac disease, this beer is brewed with such enticing grains as millet, rice, buckwheat and sorghum. YUM! Kidding, in reality beers brewed for the Celiac market using these grains tend to taste like ass, if ass tasted like really weak beer. Which I can't really confirm nor deny. Thus, it's almost a miracle of raising-of-the-dead or healing-the-syphilis proportions when a gluten-free beer actually tastes like not only a beer, but a DECENT beer. So, if you're looking for such a beer, I think you should start with Green's. Or, start with the others and then you'll appreciate Green's even more. This actually tasted like a decent triplel blonde ale, with a golden color, very effervescent, and a noticeable alcohol content (8.5%...many gluten-free beers are considerably weaker). It did taste a lot like a wine, something my wife pointed out, but that didn't make it less drinkable. One of the more interesting things about this beer was the "allergy warning" on the label, that said "Green's Ales DO NOT contain any of the following: Wheat and/or barley, Crustaceans, eggs, fish, peanuts, soya beans, milk, lactose, nuts, celery, mustard, sesame seeds, sulphur dioxide and Sulfites. I realize many of these are there because of the common problem of cross-contaminiation (growing wheat next to oats, for example), but should fish, crustaceans or eggs EVER be a problem with beer? Seriously? Don't worry, I will trust that Green's does not use lobster when brewing beer, you don't have to state it on the label.
Reviewed: May 07, 2011