Toleration

Hambleton Ales

England

This one is a hard beer to review. First of all, it's gluten-free, so if you suffer from Celiac Disease, I would suggest seeking this out. However, I should point out that the ingredients contain no grain whatsoever. NONE. Most gluten-free beers do contain some grains, usually sorghum, rice, corn, millet or buckwheat. Some are better than others (let's face it, barley, wheat, and rye make a better-tasting beer). This beer is brewed only with water, top-fermenting yeast, Challenger, Liberty and Cascade hops, and "specially prepared sugars." So, basically they use sugar instead of grain. The result is a beer that is low-carbonation, deep red in color, and smelled very boozey. The aroma kind of wavered between cheap bourbon and red wine. Strong, red, fortified wine. Yeah. It tasted very fruity, but not citrus-like as the label claims. Maybe old grapefruit, but that's a stretch. In fact, now that I smell the empty bottle, I think that's what the aroma is, old grapefruit. I understand what the brewer was going for, something for the growing Celiac market, but there are brewers doing a lot more with gluten-free grains, I now see no reason why one should eliminate grain altogether. If you're going to do that, just ferment some grapes and make wine.

Reviewed: October 05, 2011

Rating: 2/10

blog comments powered by Disqus